Phone: +91-532-2684572
Fax: +91-532-2684394

Department of Physics
The Department of Physics at Sam Higginbottom University of Agriculture, Technology and Sciences was established in the year 2003 with a vision for Excellence in Physics. Now we have Bachelors degree programmes and Postgraduate programs including doctoral program. At the department of Physics we emphasize student learning by way of discussion, question-answer and dialogue.

Research and Ph. D. programme are in the fields of Condensed Matter Physics, Resonance Physics and Application of Quantum Mechanics and Astrophysics. At present only theoretical work is being done.

The Department also carries out research in theoretical and observational astrophysics. The research in astrophysics involves investigation in the X-ray band to understand some of the problems related to X-ray binaries. It parallely also includes theoretical studies of polytropic problems, stellar structure.

Practical learning is encouraged through experiments by conducting a series of experiments in the laboratory. The labs are fairly well-equipped.

Library is the heart and soul of any learning system and we are maintaining a departmental library where students are encouraged to spend as much time as they can. We subscribe to about fifteen journals. In addition, seminars form part of the teaching-learning process where current topics are discussed. Exhibitions give a platform to the students to express what they have learnt. Field trips play an important role in giving a first hand experience of the application of Physics on a large scale, such as thermal power plants/nuclear power plants. Besides, these trips help in the social life of the department as students and teachers are able to move about with each other like friends.